We have Employed & Trained over 15,000 Apprentices & Trainees

Show me the money

Apprenticeship wages versus university fees (HECS)

Ever wondered how much money you'll be earning as an apprentice?

Each year you progress through your apprenticeship, your salary will increase. Compare this growth in your earnings over 4 years with the time and costs associated with undertaking a university degree.

Stage Trade Engineering Mechanical Based on minimum award wages for Engineering University HECS Help Loan
Stage 1 +$19,401 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Leave Loading -$8,768
Stage 2 +$23,281 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Leave Loading -$8,768
Stage 3 +$29,102 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Leave Loading -$8,768
Stage 4 +$34,146 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Leave Loading
Totals $105,930 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Leave Loading -$26,304 Debt
$132,234 = variance between an apprenticeship and University over 4 years
Year Trade Engineering Mechanical Based on minimum award wages for Engineering University HECS
The University of Sydney
Year 1 +$15,236 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Tools -$6,979
Year 2 +$17,680 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Tools -$6,979
Year 3 +$22,552 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Tools -$6,979
Year 4 +$27,227 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Tools
Totals $82,695 Plus Overtime, Allowances, Tools -$20,937 Debt
Note:
  • These figures are based on an apprenticeship in Engineering Mechanical (Fitter and Turner) commencing the apprenticeship at completion of Year 12 schooling.
  • The HECS Help Loan debt is based on a Commonwealth supported place in Band 2, Engineering. It is repaid through the tax system once you are working and your income reaches a compulsory repayment threshold, which is $54,126 for 2015/2016.

Wages and Awards

Our hosts often reward great work and often pay above award rates and conditions.

You will be paid an apprentice wage, based on the relevant Award and you will be eligible for sick leave and holiday pay. Find out here at the Fair Work website.

If you are doing a traineeship, you will be paid a trainee wage based on the applicable Award and you will be eligible for sick leave and holiday pay. Find out here at the Fair Work website.

You receive the same entitlements as all other employees of the company and will get a pay slip from Ai Group Apprentice and Trainee Centre each week that includes details such as the period of employment to which the pay relates, the hours worked (including overtime), gross pay, tax deducted, other deductions and net pay.

200

Years of Experience

Staff have over 200 combined years of experience in Group Training and dealing with apprentices and trainees

View Current Vacancies

15000

Candidates Employed

Over 15,000 apprentices and trainees trained and or employed through AiG ATC

View Current Vacancies

60000

Employers Represented

Ai Group represents the interests of 60,000+ Employers nationally

View Current Vacancies

Job Search

BROWSE JOB VACANCIES

Find a Job

Logo View Current Vacancies

Online Enquiry

New South Wales & ACT

PARRAMATTA OFFICE

L2 100 George Street
Parramatta NSW 2150

Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SHAUN WOOD

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Shaun.Wood@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

MICK POWER

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW/ACT
Mick.Power@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Albury / Wodonga

ALBURY OFFICE

560 David St, Albury NSW 2640
Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 02 6041 0600
Fax: 02 6021 5117

CHANON RAMOS

Area Manager – Hume Riverina
Chanon.Ramos@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Queensland

BRISBANE STATE OFFICE

202 Boundary St, Spring Hill 4004
PO Box 128, Spring Hill 4004
Tel: 1300 761 944

QLD License No: LHL-01790-Z8X6D

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

PAUL EAMES

Area Manager
Paul.Eames@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

South Australia

ADELAIDE STATE OFFICE

45 Greenhill Rd, Wayville 5034
Kerrie Campbell – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

TONY RICKETTS

State Manager – Western Regions
Tony Ricketts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JUSTYN BOTTOMLEY

Business Development Consultant – SA
Justyn.Bottomley@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

PAUL MCPHERSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Paul.McPherson@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

GARY SIMPSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Gary.Simpson@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SHAWN MATTHEWS

Employment & Training Consultant
Shawn.Matthews@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

CHRIS HOULTBY

Employment & Training Consultant
Chris.Houltby@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

ASHLEIGH GOLDSMITH

Recruitment Consultant
Ashleigh.Goldsmith@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Tasmania

TASMANIA CONTACT

Bec Tindal
Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Victoria

VICTORIAN STATE OFFICE

L2, 441 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne VIC 3004
PO Box 7622, Melbourne VIC 3004

Tel: 1300 761 944
ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

DAVID TATE

State Manager – Southern Regions
David.Tate@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

BEC TINDAL

Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

KEVIN TROY

Employment & Training Consultant
Kevin.Troy@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JOANNE FOX

Employment & Training Consultant / Recruitment – VIC
Joanne.Fox@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

RUSSELL GAMBLING

Employment & Training Consultant  – VIC
Russell.Gambling@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

TAYLOR STRACHAN

Employment & Training Consultant – VIC
Taylor.Strachan@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

Bendigo

BENDIGO OFFICE

87 Wills St, Bendigo VIC 3550
Tel: 1300 761 944

FRANCES CONSTABLE

Area Manager – Central Victoria
Frances.Constable@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Western Australia

PERTH STATE OFFICE

Suite 6, South Shore Centre

85 South Perth Esplanade

SOUTH PERTH WA 6151

TONY RICKETTS

State Manager – Western Regions
Tony Ricketts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

LUISA TERRIBILE

Luisa Terribile
Employment & Training Consultant
Luisa.Terribile@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

National Payroll / Accounts

SAM DAULAGALA

Finance & Business Manager
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

STEPHANIE O'NEILL

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

GEORGIA ROUSSEL

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

SAMANTHA WOOLLARD

Finance Officer
Aigts.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0211

Work Health & Safety Team

REN TRINCHERA

WHS National Manager
Ren.Trinchera@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

LEANNE SUFFOLK

WHS Safety Adviser
Leanne.Suffolk@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

TONY SCARINCI

WHS Safety Adviser
Tony.Scarinci@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Job Board Subscription