Workers transitioning to the Defence Sector in South Australia

The Naval Shipbuilding Industry requires a highly capable, productive and skilled shipbuilding and sustainment workforce in the coming years. Over 15,000 direct and indirect jobs will be created by 2026 to build the Future Submarines, Frigates, and Offshore Patrol Vessels, as well as the workforce required to sustain the current and future fleet.

Fantastic opportunities now exist to enter this rapidly growing workforce and secure your future through an Apprenticeship or Traineeship!

What is the Defence Sector?

The prime contractors in Adelaide are BAE Systems (constructing the Hunter Class frigates), and Naval Group (constructing the Future Submarines). Both constructs are being built for the Royal Australian Navy. Many other sustainment and technical support-focussed and supply chain companies will also provide future opportunities through workforce expansions.

What are the Jobs?

Many of the roles that will be required are skilled trades needing a trade qualification gained through an Apprenticeship. Others are occupations that will require training undertaken through a Traineeship. Demand for workers with structural skills, such as Fabricators and Welders, will be particularly strong, as well as Electricians, and Carpenters.

Apprenticeships in the Defence Industry

AI Group is currently supporting ex-services personnel and workers who previously worked in manufacturing, including the automotive industry, to transition to skilled jobs through Apprenticeships and Traineeships within the Defence Industry.

Your previous experience can assist you to fast-track through an Apprenticeship if you are able to demonstrate relevant skills that translate to working in a manufacturing environment, using safety systems, working with lean systems, or working in teams for example.

Ai Group can assist by:

  • Referring you to potential employers and supporting you through a recruitment process;
  • Managing the recognition process by helping you develop a portfolio of evidence;
  • Ensuring that TAFE provides you with appropriate recognition of prior learning;
  • Negotiating the Training Plan with an employer so there is clarity about how long the Apprenticeship will take;
  • Assisting you to obtain any required security clearances where required;
  • Providing you with a range of support around your employment and training throughout the Apprenticeship.

For further information, please contact us.

Logo View Current Vacancies

Online Enquiry

New South Wales & ACT

PARRAMATTA OFFICE

L2 100 George Street
Parramatta NSW 2150

Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SHAUN WOOD

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Shaun.Wood@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

MICK POWER

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW/ACT
Mick.Power@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Albury / Wodonga

ALBURY OFFICE

560 David St, Albury NSW 2640
Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 02 6041 0600
Fax: 02 6021 5117

CHANON RAMOS

Area Manager – Hume Riverina
Chanon.Ramos@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Queensland

BRISBANE STATE OFFICE

202 Boundary St, Spring Hill 4004
PO Box 128, Spring Hill 4004
Tel: 1300 761 944

QLD License No: LHL-01790-Z8X6D

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

PAUL EAMES

Area Manager
Paul.Eames@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

South Australia

ADELAIDE STATE OFFICE

45 Greenhill Rd, Wayville 5034
Kerrie Campbell – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

TONY RICKETTS

State Manager – Western Regions
Tony Ricketts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JUSTYN BOTTOMLEY

Business Development Consultant – SA
Justyn.Bottomley@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

PAUL MCPHERSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Paul.McPherson@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

GARY SIMPSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Gary.Simpson@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SHAWN MATTHEWS

Employment & Training Consultant
Shawn.Matthews@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

CHRIS HOULTBY

Employment & Training Consultant
Chris.Houltby@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

ASHLEIGH GOLDSMITH

Recruitment Consultant
Ashleigh.Goldsmith@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Tasmania

TASMANIA CONTACT

Bec Tindal
Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Victoria

VICTORIAN STATE OFFICE

L2, 441 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne VIC 3004
PO Box 7622, Melbourne VIC 3004

Tel: 1300 761 944
ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

DAVID TATE

State Manager – Southern Regions
David.Tate@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

BEC TINDAL

Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

KEVIN TROY

Employment & Training Consultant
Kevin.Troy@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JOANNE FOX

Employment & Training Consultant / Recruitment – VIC
Joanne.Fox@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

RUSSELL GAMBLING

Employment & Training Consultant  – VIC
Russell.Gambling@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

TAYLOR STRACHAN

Employment & Training Consultant – VIC
Taylor.Strachan@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

Bendigo

BENDIGO OFFICE

87 Wills St, Bendigo VIC 3550
Tel: 1300 761 944

FRANCES CONSTABLE

Area Manager – Central Victoria
Frances.Constable@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Western Australia

PERTH STATE OFFICE

Suite 6, South Shore Centre

85 South Perth Esplanade

SOUTH PERTH WA 6151

TONY RICKETTS

State Manager – Western Regions
Tony Ricketts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

LUISA TERRIBILE

Luisa Terribile
Employment & Training Consultant
Luisa.Terribile@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

National Payroll / Accounts

SAM DAULAGALA

Finance & Business Manager
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

STEPHANIE O'NEILL

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

GEORGIA ROUSSEL

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

SAMANTHA WOOLLARD

Finance Officer
Aigts.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0211

Work Health & Safety Team

REN TRINCHERA

WHS National Manager
Ren.Trinchera@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

LEANNE SUFFOLK

WHS Safety Adviser
Leanne.Suffolk@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

TONY SCARINCI

WHS Safety Adviser
Tony.Scarinci@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Job Board Subscription