We have employed & trained over 15,000 apprentices & trainees

Blog

Safety Alert – Confined Space

CONFINED SPACE SAFETY ALERT

What is a confined space?

A confined space means an enclosed or partially enclosed space that is not designed or intended for human occupancy except for the purpose of performing work; has restricted means of access and egress; and may become hazardous to a person entering it because of its design, construction, location or atmosphere, the materials or substances in it, or any other conditions.

What are the risks?

Many confined spaces contain hazardous substances or dangerous conditions that could include:

  • Poor Air Quality – Atmospheres with oxygen content less than 20% (deficient) or more than 22% (enriched) are not safe.
  • Toxic Gases – Hydrogen sulphide, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, smoke, ammonia, chlorine, and argon are all potentially deadly.
  • Flammable Atmospheres – A highly explosive atmosphere can be created when finely ground combustible materials such as grain, carbon, fibres, plastics or flammable liquids are present.
  • Loose materials that may engulf or smother – shifting or collapse of bulk material, barrier failures.

 What can we do to protect ourselves?

To effectively control the risks associated with working in a confined space, a Confined Space Risk Assessment and Control Program should be implemented at your host’s workplace.

The dangers and risks associated with confined spaces are not always obvious. All hazards must be identified and either eliminated prior to entry, or all precautions must be taken for the safety of the person entering the confined space. Items to consider prior to entering a confined space include, (but are not limited to):

  • Do you know if a risk assessment has been conducted and know the practices and procedures?
  • Do you know if a written work permit has been developed?
  • Do you know if adequate atmospheric testing and monitoring is being conducted with an approved air quality monitor?
  • Do you have all the proper personal protective equipment required?
  • Do you know if a competent spotter will be present with an effective emergency response plan?

The attendant MUST ALWAYS have communication with the emergency response team and the person in the confined space.

Above all else, ensure that all workers involved in the confined space process are competent to do the job safely. Too many workers are injured and killed each year while working in confined spaces.

Unless you are trained in confined space hazards and how to control them, never enter a confined space.

If you have any safety concerns or issues, please use the contacts below:

Alan Roydhouse
Senior Safety Adviser
M: 0418 854 039
E: Alan.Roydhouse@aigroup.com.au

Ren Trinchera
Senior Safety Adviser
M: 0449 676 752
E: Ren.Trinchera@aigroup.com.au

Paul McPherson
Safety Adviser
M: 0415 121 606
E: Paul.McPherson@aigroup.com.au

Logo View Current Vacancies

Online Enquiry

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

New South Wales & ACT

NORTH SYDNEY OFFICE

51 Walker St, North Sydney 2060
PO Box 289, North Sydney 2059
Tel: 02 9466 5566
Fax: 02 9466 5432

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0438 804 905 / Tel: 08 8394 0030

 

ERIC MILNE

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Eric.Milne@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0419 534 866 / Tel: 02 9466 5424

MICK POWER

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW/ACT
Mick.Power@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0416 407 721 / Tel: 02 9466 5424

National Payroll / Accounts

KEVIN BRDIGES

Senior Accountant
Kevin.Bridges@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

GREG TAYLOR

Payroll Manager / Accounts Manager
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0137

STEPHANIE O'NEILL

Accounts/Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

Western Australia

NORTHERN TERRITORY / WESTERN AUSTRALIA CONTACT

State Manager – Western Regions
Tony Ricketts@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0430 175 020 / Tel: 08 8394 0018

Pat Bosco
Business Development Coordinator – WA/NT
Pat.Bosco@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0408 831 803 / Tel: 08 8394 0029

Bendigo

BENDIGO OFFICE

87 Wills St, Bendigo VIC 3550
Gina Stewart – Administration Officer
Tel: 03 5440 3900

FRANCES CONSTABLE

Area Manager – Central Victoria
Frances.Constable@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0419 169 649 / Tel: 03 5440 3903

Victoria

VICTORIAN STATE OFFICE

L2, 441 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne VIC 3004
PO Box 7622, Melbourne VIC 3004
Tel: 03 9867 0149
Fax: 03 9864 0193

DAVID TATE

State Manager/Projects
David.Tate@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0417 571 311 / Tel: 03 9867 0139

BEC TINDAL

Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0400 954 129 / Tel: 03 9867 0146

KEVIN TROY

Employment & Training Consultant
Kevin.Troy@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0437 287 620 / Tel: 03 9867 0281

JOANNE FOX

Employment & Training Consultant – VIC
Joanne.Fox@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0407 300 702 / Tel: (03) 9867 0154

RUSSELL GAMBLING

Employment & Training Consultant & Mentor – VIC
Russell.Gambling@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0412 885 018 / Tel: 03 9867 0127

 

Tasmania

TASMANIA CONTACT

Bec Tindal
Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0400 954 129 / Tel: 03 9867 0146

South Australia

ADELAIDE STATE OFFICE

45 Greenhill Rd, Wayville 5034
Kerrie Campbell – Administration Officer
Tel: 08 8394 0000

TONY RICKETTS

State Manager – Western Regions
Tony Ricketts@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0430 175 020 / Tel: 08 8394 0018

PAT BOSCO

Business Development Coordinator – SA
Pat.Bosco@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0408 831 803 / Tel: 08 8394 0029

PAUL MCPHERSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Paul.McPherson@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0415 121 606 / Tel: 08 8394 0036

GARY SIMPSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Gary.Simpson@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0438 812 382 / Tel: 08 8394 0034

SHAWN MATTHEWS

Employment & Training Consultant / Apprentice Mentor
Shawn.Matthews@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0404 019 298 / Tel: 08 8394 0037

Queensland

BRISBANE STATE OFFICE

202 Boundary St, Spring Hill 4004
PO Box 128, Spring Hill 4004
Tel: 07 3244 1775
Fax: 07 3244 1799

QLD License No: LHL-01790-Z8X6D

 

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0438 804 905 / Tel: 08 8394 0030

 

PAUL EAMES

Area Manager
Paul.Eames@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0447 686 084 / Tel: 07 3244 1775

Albury / Wodonga

ALBURY OFFICE

560 David St, Albury NSW 2640
Kylie Clynes – Administration Officer
Tel: 02 6041 0600
Fax: 02 6021 5117

CHANON RAMOS

Area Manager – Hume Riverina
Chanon.Ramos@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0415 991 313 / Tel: 02 6041 0602

WHS Management Team

REN TRINCHERA

WHS National Manager
Ren.Trinchera@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0449 676 752 / Tel: 03 9867 0222

GINA STEWART

WHS WorkCover Officer / WHS Adminstration
Gina.Stewart@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 5440 3900

LEANNE SUFFOLK

WHS Senior Safety Adviser
Leanne.Suffolk@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 0429 065 171 / Tel: 02 9466 5424

Job Board Subscription