fbpx

We have employed & trained over 15,000 apprentices & trainees

Safety Alert – Confined Space

CONFINED SPACE SAFETY ALERT

What is a confined space?

A confined space means an enclosed or partially enclosed space that is not designed or intended for human occupancy except for the purpose of performing work; has restricted means of access and egress; and may become hazardous to a person entering it because of its design, construction, location or atmosphere, the materials or substances in it, or any other conditions.

What are the risks?

Many confined spaces contain hazardous substances or dangerous conditions that could include:

  • Poor Air Quality – Atmospheres with oxygen content less than 20% (deficient) or more than 22% (enriched) are not safe.
  • Toxic Gases – Hydrogen sulphide, carbon dioxide, carbon monoxide, smoke, ammonia, chlorine, and argon are all potentially deadly.
  • Flammable Atmospheres – A highly explosive atmosphere can be created when finely ground combustible materials such as grain, carbon, fibres, plastics or flammable liquids are present.
  • Loose materials that may engulf or smother – shifting or collapse of bulk material, barrier failures.

 What can we do to protect ourselves?

To effectively control the risks associated with working in a confined space, a Confined Space Risk Assessment and Control Program should be implemented at your host’s workplace.

The dangers and risks associated with confined spaces are not always obvious. All hazards must be identified and either eliminated prior to entry, or all precautions must be taken for the safety of the person entering the confined space. Items to consider prior to entering a confined space include, (but are not limited to):

  • Do you know if a risk assessment has been conducted and know the practices and procedures?
  • Do you know if a written work permit has been developed?
  • Do you know if adequate atmospheric testing and monitoring is being conducted with an approved air quality monitor?
  • Do you have all the proper personal protective equipment required?
  • Do you know if a competent spotter will be present with an effective emergency response plan?

The attendant MUST ALWAYS have communication with the emergency response team and the person in the confined space.

Above all else, ensure that all workers involved in the confined space process are competent to do the job safely. Too many workers are injured and killed each year while working in confined spaces.

Unless you are trained in confined space hazards and how to control them, never enter a confined space.

If you have any safety concerns or issues, please use the contacts below:

Alan Roydhouse
Senior Safety Adviser
M: 0418 854 039
E: Alan.Roydhouse@aigroup.com.au

Ren Trinchera
Senior Safety Adviser
M: 0449 676 752
E: Ren.Trinchera@aigroup.com.au

Paul McPherson
Safety Adviser
M: 0415 121 606
E: Paul.McPherson@aigroup.com.au

Logo View Current Vacancies

Online Enquiry

New South Wales & ACT

PARRAMATTA OFFICE

L2 100 George Street
Parramatta NSW 2150

Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

ERIC MILNE

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Eric.Milne@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

MICK POWER

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Mick.Power@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Albury / Wodonga

ALBURY OFFICE

560 David St, Albury NSW 2640
Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 02 6041 0600
Fax: 02 6021 5117

CHANON RAMOS

Area Manager – Hume Riverina
Chanon.Ramos@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Queensland

BRISBANE STATE OFFICE

202 Boundary St, Spring Hill 4004
PO Box 128, Spring Hill 4004
Tel: 1300 761 944

QLD License No: LHL-01790-Z8X6D

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

PAUL EAMES

Area Manager
Paul.Eames@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

South Australia

ADELAIDE STATE OFFICE

45 Greenhill Rd, Wayville 5034
Naomi Rule – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

DEBORAH MCDIARMID

State Manager – Western Regions
Deborah.McDiarmid@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JESSICA VAUGHAN

Employment & Training Consultant
Jessica.Vaughan@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

GARY SIMPSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Gary.Simpson@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SHAWN MATTHEWS

Employment & Training Consultant
Shawn.Matthews@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

CHRIS HOULTBY

Employment & Training Consultant
Chris.Houltby@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

ASHLEIGH GOLDSMITH

Recruitment Consultant
Ashleigh.Goldsmith@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Tasmania

TASMANIA CONTACT

Bec Tindal
Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Victoria

VICTORIAN STATE OFFICE

Sian Prangnell – Business Support Officer

L2, 441 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne VIC 3004
PO Box 7622, Melbourne VIC 3004

Tel: 1300 761 944
ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

DAVID TATE

State Manager – Southern Regions
David.Tate@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

BEC TINDAL

Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

STEPHANIE ONEILL

Employment & Training Consultant
Stephanie.ONeill@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JOANNE FOX

Employment & Training Consultant
Joanne.Fox@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

RUSSELL GAMBLING

Employment & Training Consultant – VIC
Russell.Gambling@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

ANDREW CAMILLERI

Employment & Training Consultant
Andrew.Camilleri@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

DMITRY TEMKIN

Recruitment Consultant
Dmitry.Temkin@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

Bendigo

BENDIGO OFFICE

87 Wills St, Bendigo VIC 3550
Tel: 1300 761 944

FRANCES CONSTABLE

Area Manager – Central Victoria
Frances.Constable@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Western Australia

PERTH STATE OFFICE

Suite 6, South Shore Centre

85 South Perth Esplanade

SOUTH PERTH WA 6151

DEBORAH MCDIARMID

State Manager – Western Regions
Deborah.McDiarmid@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

LUISA TERRIBILE

Luisa Terribile
Employment & Training Consultant
Luisa.Terribile@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

JAMES PRACILIO

James Pracilio
Employment & Training Consultant
James.Pracilio@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

National Payroll / Accounts

SAM DAULAGALA

Finance & Business Manager
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

XIN WANG

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

CHERYL CHAPMAN

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

SAMANTHA WOOLLARD

Finance Officer
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0211

Work Health & Safety Team

MATTHEW GALLOWAY

National Manager – WHS
Matthew.Galloway@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

TONY SCARINCI

WHS Safety Adviser – SA/WA
Tony.Scarinci@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SLAVKA DE MINA

WHS Safety Adviser – VIC/TAS/QLD/NSW
Slavka.DeMina@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Job Board Subscription