fbpx

We have employed & trained over 15,000 apprentices & trainees

Safety Talk Newsletter – Issue 3: Using Hand and Power Tools

Using hand and power tools can be hazardous to the worker and others in the vicinity. Serious injuries can occur if used incorrectly.

General rules for use:

  • PPE should be worn including safety glasses and hearing protection.
  • Do not wear loose clothing around rotating equipment.
  • If you have long hair, put up in a hairnet, ponytail, or wear a hat to keep it from getting caught in the rotating parts.
  • Use the correct attachments and any guards that go with them.
  • Inspect the tool and electrical leads before use.
  • Do not use large, heavy power tools whilst standing on ladders as the force required to be exerted may make you unstable on the ladder forcing you to over balance and fall.
  • Avoid tripping hazards when laying out portable cords.
  • Never wrap a power cord around your wrist, leg, or other body part.
  • Keep cords out of water.
  • Use tools or fixtures, rather than bare hands, to hold and support materials being worked on. For example, use clamps or vices.

Remember always ask your supervisor if you are unsure how to use a specific tool and ask for direct supervision.

Download the PDF

Logo View Current Vacancies

Online Enquiry

New South Wales & ACT

PARRAMATTA OFFICE

L2 100 George Street
Parramatta NSW 2150

Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

ERIC MILNE

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Eric.Milne@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

MICK POWER

Employment & Training Consultant – NSW
Mick.Power@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Albury / Wodonga

ALBURY OFFICE

560 David St, Albury NSW 2640
Kylie Clynes – Business Support Officer
Tel: 02 6041 0600
Fax: 02 6021 5117

CHANON RAMOS

Area Manager – Hume Riverina
Chanon.Ramos@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Queensland

BRISBANE STATE OFFICE

202 Boundary St, Spring Hill 4004
PO Box 128, Spring Hill 4004
Tel: 1300 761 944

QLD License No: LHL-01790-Z8X6D

ROB DRYSDALE

State Manager – Northern Regions (QLD / NSW) / Compliance Manager
Rob.Drysdale@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

PAUL EAMES

Area Manager
Paul.Eames@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

South Australia

ADELAIDE STATE OFFICE

45 Greenhill Rd, Wayville 5034
Naomi Rule – Business Support Officer
Tel: 1300 761 944

ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

DEBORAH MCDIARMID

State Manager – Western Regions
Deborah.McDiarmid@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JESSICA VAUGHAN

Employment & Training Consultant
Jessica.Vaughan@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

GARY SIMPSON

Employment & Training Consultant
Gary.Simpson@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SHAWN MATTHEWS

Employment & Training Consultant
Shawn.Matthews@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

CHRIS HOULTBY

Employment & Training Consultant
Chris.Houltby@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

ASHLEIGH GOLDSMITH

Recruitment Consultant
Ashleigh.Goldsmith@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Tasmania

TASMANIA CONTACT

Bec Tindal
Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Victoria

VICTORIAN STATE OFFICE

Sian Prangnell – Business Support Officer

L2, 441 St Kilda Rd, Melbourne VIC 3004
PO Box 7622, Melbourne VIC 3004

Tel: 1300 761 944
ATC.Admin@aigroup.com.au

DAVID TATE

State Manager – Southern Regions
David.Tate@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

BEC TINDAL

Employment & Training Consultant
Bec.Tindal@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

STEPHANIE ONEILL

Employment & Training Consultant
Stephanie.ONeill@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

JOANNE FOX

Employment & Training Consultant
Joanne.Fox@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

RUSSELL GAMBLING

Employment & Training Consultant – VIC
Russell.Gambling@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

ANDREW CAMILLERI

Employment & Training Consultant
Andrew.Camilleri@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

DMITRY TEMKIN

Recruitment Consultant
Dmitry.Temkin@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

Bendigo

BENDIGO OFFICE

87 Wills St, Bendigo VIC 3550
Tel: 1300 761 944

FRANCES CONSTABLE

Area Manager – Central Victoria
Frances.Constable@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Western Australia

PERTH STATE OFFICE

Suite 6, South Shore Centre

85 South Perth Esplanade

SOUTH PERTH WA 6151

DEBORAH MCDIARMID

State Manager – Western Regions
Deborah.McDiarmid@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

LUISA TERRIBILE

Luisa Terribile
Employment & Training Consultant
Luisa.Terribile@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

JAMES PRACILIO

James Pracilio
Employment & Training Consultant
James.Pracilio@aigroup.com.au
Mob: 1300 761 944

National Payroll / Accounts

SAM DAULAGALA

Finance & Business Manager
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

XIN WANG

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0151

CHERYL CHAPMAN

Payroll Officer
AiGTS.Payroll@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0220

SAMANTHA WOOLLARD

Finance Officer
AiGTS.Accounts@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 03 9867 0211

Work Health & Safety Team

MATTHEW GALLOWAY

National Manager – WHS
Matthew.Galloway@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

TONY SCARINCI

WHS Safety Adviser – SA/WA
Tony.Scarinci@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

SLAVKA DE MINA

WHS Safety Adviser – VIC/TAS/QLD/NSW
Slavka.DeMina@aigroup.com.au
Tel: 1300 761 944

Job Board Subscription